On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 98.5 FM Battle Creek, Michigan


Current Conditions(Battle Creek,MI 49017)

More Weather »
64° Feels Like: 64°
Wind: E 6 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Partly Cloudy 67°


Mostly Clear 48°


Mostly Sunny 71°


2012 Primary Election results


KALAMAZOO (WKZO) -- The polls have closed and the results are in for Michigan's 2012 primary election.

In the race to see which Republican candidate will square off with incumbent Democratic Senator Debbie Stabenow this fall, MIRS News is reporting that former Congressman Pete Hoekstra appears to have won over candidates Clark Durant, Gary Glenn and Randy Hekman.

In the race of Michigan's 6th Congressional district, MIRS says Democrat Mike O'Brien will face incumbent Republican Congressman Fred Upton, as he has defeated primary challenger Jack Hoogendyk.

There were several contested races for the Kalamazoo County Board of Commissioners. In District 1's Democratic primary, Carolyn Alford emerged the winner by a large margin. In District 6's Republican race, Jeff Heppler won with over half the vote. In District 7's Republican primary, Roger Tuinier came out on top. In District 10's Republican race, Phil Stinchcomb emerged the victor.

Incumbent Democrat Richard Fuller will run for re-election as Kalamazoo County Sheriff, and with most precincts reporting in, it appears his Republican challenger will be Ward Lawrence.

In the hotly contested race for seats on the board in Texas Township, four seats are up for grabs. The top vote getters are Joyce Neubauer, Donald Boven, Erin Hoogendyk, and Steven Bosch. As for the Texas Township Supervisor position, Dave Healy is out and Greg Pendowski is in.

See the Full List of results